What are the DUI Laws in Arizona?
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious crime in Arizona and throughout the rest of the US. If you are charged with any type of DUI, it’s imperative that you take the charges seriously and contact knowledgeable Arizona defense attorneys to assist with your case.
A DUI charge can carry state and federal penalties, regardless of whether driving under the influence leads to any consequences. Just being impaired and behind the wheel is a crime in and of itself, even if you don’t drive at all.
Punishments can be quite severe, ranging from fines to probation to jail sentences to even the loss of your driver’s license. Arizona defense attorneys can ensure that you have an airtight case to present to the court and can help you avoid harsh penalties.
Impaired Driving Laws in Arizona
Arizona classifies driving under the influence as having a BAC or blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher. These limits are different depending on the vehicle you drive and your age; commercial vehicle drivers count as intoxicated if their BAC is at or above 0.04%, and any underage drivers are also legally intoxicated if their BAC is at or above 0.04%.
If you are pulled over by an Arizona police officer, you are required to submit to a chemical test. This is stated through the Implied Consent Law. If you fail to take this test, you could face penalties such as a one-year suspension of your driver’s license, fines, or jail time.
Furthermore, you may be charged with DUI crimes if you are under the influence of drugs other than alcohol, such as marijuana. A police officer may give you different tests to determine whether you are under the influence of non-alcoholic drugs.
In either case, the conviction of a DUI charge could lead to significant penalties that can affect your finances, your daily life, and your privileges for years to come.
Arizona DUI Penalties
DUI convictions may carry heavy penalties based on the level of intoxication proven by the prosecution and whether it’s your first, second, or third offense. Penalties include:
- Jail time, ranging from 24 hours to 10 days for a first offense or a minimum of four months if you are convicted for your third offense
- Fines and penalties, ranging from a base fine of $250 to $750 or more
- License suspension, which can last for between 90 days and one year
- The required installation of an interlocking ignition device
The last two penalties are particularly severe for those who require their vehicles to commute to work, take care of family, or handle other responsibilities. However, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving under the influence for these penalties to take effect.
Therefore, it’s a good idea to team up with well-known, reputable Arizona criminal defense lawyers.
How Arizona Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help
With the best Arizona defense attorneys on your side, you’ll be able to leverage several strategies and expert legal representation to avoid the worst outcomes for your court case. Arizona defense lawyers can use a variety of defense strategies, such as pointing out that the gathered evidence is insufficient for proof, focusing on whether the proper procedures for law enforcement were followed, and more.
Furthermore, Arizona defense lawyers can work with you throughout the case and help take some of the stress and responsibility off your shoulders. Being charged with a DUI can be frightening and mentally taxing. But you don’t have to go through the process alone. Hire a skilled Arizona criminal defense team to assist today.