Minor in Possession Arizona Laws and Regulations
Arizona law isn’t that much different from other regulations in the US pertaining to the possession and the consumption of alcohol by individuals under the age of 21. Depending on the circumstances, minor in possession Arizona laws state it as criminal offence and can lead to jail time.
Arizona Statutes and Regulations
According to Arizona Revised Statutes 4-244(9), a person under the age of 21 cannot buy, receive or drink alcoholic beverages. As a result, criminal minor in possession Arizona (MIP) tickets will be issued whenever police officers come across a violation.
A minor can enter a bar whenever they’re accompanied by a person of age or a guardian. Still, the rule outlined in the above-mentioned statute holds true. The minor cannot consume alcohol in such surroundings.
The only exception to these rules is defined in Arizona Revised Statutes 4-249. A minor can legally consume alcohol as a part of a religious ritual. This is permissible whenever participation in the religious service doesn’t lead to health or safety threats.
Alcohol-Related Charges and the Possible Sanctions
A minor who consumes an alcoholic beverage in public will get a minor in consumption (MIC) ticket. it will potentially result in sanctions like entering an alcohol education or an addiction program, one year of probation and community service. First-time offenders are very likely to get deferred prosecution. In this instance, no judgment will be entered but the defendant will still have to meet with a probation officer on a regular basis.
Minors that obtain liquor illegally face Class 1 misdemeanor charges. The penalties include up to six months in jail and a fine of up to 2,500 dollars. Whenever somebody else buys alcohol for an underage person, the minor will be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor (a sentence of up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to 500 dollars).
Using a fake ID to obtain alcohol will result in Class 1 misdemeanor charges.
As already mentioned, minors can enter bars and other establishments that serve alcohol as long as they’re accompanied by someone over the age of 21. Whenever a minor consumes alcohol in a bar, however, they will face Class 2 misdemeanor charges and a penalty of up to a month in jail and a fine of up to 750 dollars.
Underage Drivers Who Commit DUI
Drinking and driving is prosecuted rigorously in Arizona. Whenever the violation is committed by a minor, the consequences are expected to be serious. Consult experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately.
Arizona is a zero tolerance state for underage drivers. This means that consuming any amount of alcohol prior to getting in the vehicle is illegal. First-time offenders could spend anywhere between 24 hours and 10 days in jail. They will also have to attend an educational program and pay a fine. License suspension will also occur
The sanctions become much more serious for second and third-time offenders. A person who commits underage DUI will face a jail sentence in the range from 30 to 90 days, a fine of up to 2,500 dollars and a license suspension for one year.
Third time offenders are already looking at prison time. The eventual sentence is four months in prison and a fine of up to 4,000 dollars. License suspension and the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) are other expected sanctions.
Just like in the case of underage possession and consumption, first-time offenders will get some leniency in court unless there are aggravating circumstances. Probation and community service could potentially replace the jail time. Deferred prosecution is another viable possibility that experienced attorneys will go for. The minor will have to meet with a probation officer for a certain period of time and if there aren’t additional violations, the original charges will be dropped.